darc awards voting has begun!

July 24, 2015
Top row – Kaoru Mende, Karolina Zielinska-Dabkowska, Chiara Carucci; Middle row – Emma Cogswell, Liz Peck, Lara Elbez; Bottom row – Christopher ‘Kit’ Cuttle, Naama Steigman, musson + retallick

(Worldwide) – An international panel of independent lighting designers have chosen their shortlists for each of the project categories. Public voting by independent lighting design community has now begun.

The project shortlists have now been chosen by the international lighting design judging panel for the darc awards and voting by the international lighting design and light art community has begun.

The shortlists can be viewed here… www.darcawards.com/view-entries

The panel consists of Kaoru Mende (Japan), principal of Light Planners Associates; Karolina Zielinska-Dabkowska (Poland), a lighting architect and researcher; Chiara Carucci (Italy), Lead Coordinator of Light-Related Organizations for the International Year of Light 2015; Emma Cogswell (UK), Projects Manager for the IALD; Liz Peck (UK), President of the Society of Light and Lighting; Lara Elbez (Spain), lighting designer; Christopher ‘Kit’ Cuttle (New Zealand), lighting designer, author and academic; Naama Steigman (Israel), a partner at Studio Twilight; and musson+retallick (UK), artists who regularly use the medium of light in their work.

Out of the 450 entries for the darc awards, twelve from each project category have been chosen by the judging panel for lighting designers and light artists to vote on.

Product categories go straight to the public vote so that lighting designers can genuinely vote for their favourite products from the last three years.

Votes are now being cast on the darc awards website, www.darcawards.com, from until August 17th with the awards event, darc night, taking place in London on September 24th during London Design Festival.

All independent lighting designers that vote will be able to attend darc night free of charge on a first come first served basis (suppliers will be subject to a charge) turning the traditional awards ceremony protocol on its head. The awards evening iteslf will be completely different with free streetfood and drinks all night, lighting installations by lighting designers who have teamed up with the manufacturer partners, and a completely different format for presenting the evening.

Manufacturer partners are Concord (who are teaming up with Speirs + Major); Cooledge (Light Bureau); Griven (Paul Nulty Lighting Design); Innermost (Elektra); KKDC (dpa); L&L Luce&Light (LDI); LSE Lighting (Troup Bywaters + Anders); Lucent (Michael Grubb Studio); Lumino (Electrolight); Megaman (Design In progress); Reggiani (BDP); and Zumtobel (Arup). Technical partner is XL Video and the event is part of the the International Year of Light 2015 programme.