Design Miami/ Basel 2016 set to thrive

March 9, 2016

(Switzerland) – Design Miami/ returns to Basel for the eleventh time with gallery presentations and innovative talks.

With a programme speaking to the fair’s maturation, Design Miami/ Basel 2016 will see over 40 of the world’s design galleries presenting works from emerging and iconic designers from around the globe.

Amongst solo exhibitions with a notable presence at Design Miami/ Basel 2016 will be Dutch designer Joris Laarman, who created the Nebula Modern pendant lamp for Flos. Finnish lighting designer Paavo Tynell will be part of Parisian Galerie Eric Philippe’s exhibition, as well as French Art Deco designer André Sornay who will be presented by newcomer Galerie Alain Marcelpoil.

The fair’s museum-quality exhibitions in the Gallery Programme are strengthened further by curated cultural programming with the return of the Design at Large, this year bring the outdoors in with a landscape theme. Design at Large will once again be presented in the ground floor Event Hall, designed by Swiss architects Herzon & de Meuron. In the main gallery space and scattered amongst the Gallery Program will be a number of bite-size Design Curios, offering immersive environments that challenge and contextualise design.

The Swarovski Designers of the Future Award returns for its second edition, with a diverse roster of designers at the vanguard of design and innovation. London-based sound designer Yuri Suzuki, glass designer Anjali Srinivasan in Dubai, and multidisciplinary Berlin duo Studio Brynjar & Veronika have been commissioned by the crystal company to create new works and installations to be debuted at the fair.

Alongside these innovative presentations will be the Design Talks series, featuring leading lights of the design world discussing the most compelling current topics in an intimate setting that invites and encourages audience participation.

Design Miami/ Basel 2016 will be held at Hall 1 Süd, Messe Basel between June 14 and 19, with the preview day taking place on June 13.